Making Ecocide A Crime

HOW DO WE MAKE ECOCIDE AN INTERNATIONAL CRIME?

Right now, the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court (ICC) includes four crimes:

  • Genocide

  • Crimes Against Humanity

  • War Crimes

  • Crimes of Aggression (recently added) 

The Statute can be amended to add a fifth crime: ECOCIDE. 

Unlike prosecuting and fining corporations (who can simply plan fines in their budget), making ecocide a crime creates an arrestable offence.  It makes those individuals who are responsible for funding, permitting or causing severe environmental harm liable to criminal prosecution. 

 
Law
A simple 4-step process
(with power and beauty)

1.  Proposal

Any state which has ratified (formally adopted) the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court (ICC) may propose an amendment.  There are currently 123 of these “States Parties”.

THE POWER OF THIS: As soon as a state (or group of states) submits a proposal, we will begin to see changes in the way corporations behave.  Investors, banks and insurers will begin to avoid dangerous investments because they will know the law will arrive within a few years.
The time period is essential, to allow businesses to change their ways – it acts as a transition period. 

Screenshot 2021-06-14 at 18.20.46.png

 

THE BEAUTY OF THIS: Buisinessed thrive on public and investor confidence.  No CEO or shareholder wants to be considered as a war criminal. A law of ECOCIDE will therefore signal the end of corporate immunity – and begin to redirect companies and investors away from harmful practices.

2. Admissibility

This requires a majority of those present and voting at the next ICC Annual Assembly to accept the amendment for consideration.

THE POWER OF THIS: The ICC Assembly works on a one-state, one-vote basis.  The voice of a small Pacific island is therefore just as powerful as that of a large nation.  (And there are lots more of them.)

THE BEAUTY OF THIS: There has never been a more suitable time for this discussion than now.  States will want to be seen to take this issue – and therefore this amendment – seriously. 

Screenshot 2021-06-14 at 18.20.51.png

3. Adoption into the Statute

This requires at least a 2/3 majority of States Parties (currently 82/123) to be in favour of the amendment. This will probably be done at a special Crime Review Conference, where the final text of the amendment will be discussed and voted on among the States Parties.

THE POWER OF THIS: Once the law is adopted into the Statute, the crime exists (even if it is not yet enforceable).  This immediately gives it moral force in people's minds. 

THE BEAUTY OF THIS: Harming nature will begin to feel the same as harming human beings.  This will help us to grasp the fact that we are part of the living world. This reality is inevitable.  Without a healthy Earth, there can be no healthy human beings, as indigenous cultures around the world already know.

Screenshot 2021-06-14 at 18.20.57.png

4. Ratification

States Parties can then ratify (formally submit their agreement), and must enforce the law in their own country the following year.

THE POWER OF THIS: Ecocide becomes a criminal offence in the countries where it is ratified.  Beyond that, under universal jurisdiction principles, any ratifying nation may, on its own soil, arrest a non-national for ecocide committed elsewhere, as long as they consider the crime to be serious enough.  Therefore, even countries that are not state parties (such as the United States and China) will be affected.

THE BEAUTY OF THIS: The more countries ratify the crime, the more the polluting companies will be limited in their scope of action... and the more attractive it will be to act in harmony with nature.

Screenshot 2021-06-14 at 18.21.02.png

This law creates the basis for a liveable world

Text Stop écocide International

Criminaliser l'écocide

COMMENT FAIRE DE L’ÉCOCIDE UN CRIME INTERNATIONAL?

À ce jour, le Statut de Rome de la Cour Pénale Internationale (CPI) comporte 4 crimes:

  • Génocide

  • Crimes Contre l’Humanité

  • Crimes de Guerre

  • Crimes d’Aggression (récemment ajouté) 

Le Statut peut être amendé pour y ajouter un 5ème crime: L’ÉCOCIDE

Contrairement aux poursuites en procès et aux amendes imposées aux entreprises (qui peuvent simplement financer pour cela), criminaliser l’écocide donne lieu à une infraction passible d’arrestation. Cela rend les individus, responsables de financer, permettre et causer des dommages environmentaux graves, passibles de poursuites criminelles.

 
Law
Une procédure simple en 4 étapes (tout en force et en beauté)

1.  Proposition

Tout État ayant ratifié (officiellement adopté) le Statut de Rome de la Cour Pénale Internationale (CPI) peut proposer un amendement. Il y a actuellement 123 États parties.

LA FORCE: Une fois qu’un État (ou groupe d’États) soumet la proposition, nous commencerons à voir s’opérer un changement de comportement des entreprises. Les investisseurs, les banques et les assureurs commenceront à éviter les investissements dangereux car ils sauront que la loi arrivera d’ici quelques années. Cette période est cruciale pour permettre aux entreprise de changer leurs manières de faire - et agit ainsi comme période de transition.

Screenshot 2021-06-07 at 13.20.10.png

LA BEAUTÉ: La prospérité des entreprises dépend de la confiance du public et des investisseurs. Aucun PDG ou actionnaire ne souhaite être considéré comme un criminel de guerre. Une loi sur l’écocide sonnera la fin de l’immunité des entreprises - et commencera à réorienter les entreprises et investisseurs loin des pratiques nocives.

2. Admission

Cela requiert la majorité des États présents et votant à l’Assemblée annuelle de la CPI, afin d’accepter la prise en considération de l’amendement.

LA FORCE: L’Assemblée de la CPI attribue un vote par État. La voix d’une petite île du Pacifique est donc aussi puissante que celle d’une grande Nation (et il y a bien plus d’îles).

LA BEAUTÉ: Il n’y a jamais eu un moment aussi propice qu’aujourdhui pour cette discussion. Les États voudront être vus s’emparant de ce sujet - et donc de cet amendement - au sérieux.

Screenshot 2021-06-07 at 13.21.03.png

3. Adoption

Pour cela, au moins la majorité des 2/3 des États parties (actuellement 82/123) doit être en faveur de l’amendement. Elle se tiendra probablement lors d’un Conférence de Révision des Crimes spéciale, où le texte définitif de l’amendement sera discuté et voté parmi les États parties.

LA FORCE: Une fois que la loi adoptée dans le Statut, le crime existe (même s’il n’est pas encore applicable). Cela lui confère immédiatement une force morale dans l’esprit des gens. 

LA BEAUTÉ: La destruction de la nature commencera à être placée au même degré de moralité que la destruction de vies humaines. Cela nous aidera à saisir le fait que nous faisons partis du monde du vivant. Cette réalité est inévitable. Sans une Terre saine, il est impossible que les êtres humains soient en bonne santé, ce que les cultures autochtones du monde savent déjà.

Screenshot 2021-06-07 at 13.21.15.png

4. Ratification

Les États parties peuvent ensuite ratifier (soumettre officiellement leur accord), et doivent appliquer la loi dans leur pays, l’année d’après. 

LA FORCE: L’écocide devient une infraction pénale dans les pays où cela a été ratifié. De plus, selon le principe de la juridiction universelle, toute nation ayant ratifié peut, sur son territoire, arrêter un ressortissant étranger en raison d’un écocide commis ailleurs, si elle considère les actes suffisamment graves. Par conséquent, même les pays qui ne sont pas États parties (tels que les États-Unis et la Chine) seront affectés.

LA BEAUTÉ: Plus de pays ratifiront la loi, plus les entreprises polluantes seront limitées dans leurs marges de manœuvre… et plus il sera attrayant d’agir en harmonie avec la nature.

Screenshot 2021-06-07 at 13.21.26.png

Cette loi bâtit un pont vers un monde vivable